Presidential election on July 17, counting on July 20 (Third Lead)

He further said, "ECI is honoured and privileged to announce today the schedule of Election for the President of India". "The counting of votes will be held on July 20".

Since the election is through a secret ballot, the parties can not issue a whip to their members to vote for a particular candidate, Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi told a press conference here.

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi told the media on Wednesday that Presidential elections will take place on July 17. Incidentally, the law provides that the notification for election shall be issued on or after the 60th day before the expiry of term of office of the outgoing president.

The term of President Pranab Mukherjee ends on July 24. The names of veteran NCP leader Sharad Pawar as a possible consensus candidate for the Opposition parties, and Union External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, for the NDA, have been doing the rounds.

The total value of votes in the electoral college for the presidential poll is 10,98,882 with the majority mark at 5,49,442.

All so difficult for Djokovic, easy for Nadal at French Open
A wrist injury knocked Rafael Nadal out of last year's event prior to the third round, but all systems are go this time around. Then, facing Ramos, Djokovic briefly lifted his racket overhead, before using it to flip a ball backward toward a ball boy.

BJP has said that before declaring its candidate it would consult with the opposition parties. The last date for withdrawal is July 1. The election will be held on July 17.

Elected members of state legislatives and parliament will be eligible to vote for the new president, who will assume office next month.

He said assistant returning officers will be appointed in all state capitals, besides Delhi and Puducherry, to ensure smooth logistics for the election.

The commission will be supplying specific pens for marking of the preferences during the polls.

Zaidi also said that between now and July 20, no other electoral college member is retiring.