Arvind Kejriwal slams Narendra Modi for detention of TDP MPs

TDP Lawmakers Stayed Put After Rajya Sabha Was Adjourned. Marshalled Out

TDP Lawmakers Stayed Put After Rajya Sabha Was Adjourned. Marshalled Out

"The MPs who were protesting have been taken into preventive custody".

They had discussed the special category status for Andhra Pradesh.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal met with the protesting MPs and expressed solidarity to their cause.

Members of the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Andhra Pradesh and Opposition YSRCP has stage protest at Parliament every day during this session, pressing for their demand. They had to be forcefully removed later in the evening.

While TDP pulled out of the BJP-led NDA alliance, YSR Congress Party MPs have been on an indefinite hunger strike for more than 40 hours now, demanding special demanding special category status for Andhra Pradesh.

Hamels, Verlander duel on opening day for Astros, Rangers
After working out of trouble in the 10th, Rodney's debut with the Twins came to an abrupt end when Jones went deep to left. Verlander, Hamels start Astros-Rangers openerAP Photo NY169, NY168Eds: With AP Photos.

The MPs are Y V Subbareddy, Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy, Y S Avinash Reddy, V Varaprasad Rao and P V Mithun Reddy. If we still stick to our posts, it would be like cheating them.

"People believed us that we will fight for SCS. So we made a decision to quit and put pressure on the central government through our strike", Mithun Reddy said.

With Naidu hitting out at the PM, Kejriwal has found it convenient to cosy up to the Andhra Pradesh chief minister in the middle of the new undercurrents for the union of regional political parties against BJP ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Another TDP MP Rammohan Naidu has condemned the act of the Centre to detain them and disrupt their "peaceful", "democratic" protest.

The TDP chief accused the Central government of working with an oppressive mentality.

However, it was never taken up for discussion due to continuous disruptions in the Parliament.