Phil Mickelson freestyles hole 13 of US Open Championship

Phil Mickelson makes the cut but not the way you would expect

Phil Mickelson makes the cut but not the way you would expect

During the third round, Phil, who turned 48 today, had apparently had enough of his putting and on the par-4 13th hole after striking the ball once and missing the hole, he ran and hit the ball again before it had come to rest.

That was a 2-stroke penalty and Mickelson ended up with a 9 on the hole. "I've had multiple times where I've wanted to do that, I just finally did". I know the rules and the ball was going to go off in a bad spot.

With the penalty he racked up a sextuple bogey 10 at the par-four hole - although it took some minutes for the scoreboard to catch up with him.

"That's the most out of character I've ever seen Phil Mickelson", Paul Azinger said on the Fox broadcast. Daly was on No. 8 in the final round when he took an 11 on the hole and signed for an 81.

Shinnecock Hills has been ripping apart the world's best players all week and it all must have just gotten to Mickelson.

Kawhi Leonard Reportedly "Wants Out" Of San Antonio, Seeking Trade To Lakers
Among Leonard's preferred landing spots is Los Angeles - specifically the Lakers - according to ESPN's Adrian Wojnarowski . One of the biggest chess pieces of the National Basketball Association offseason has put himself in play.

That's was John Daly's reasoning when he pulled a similar stunt at the 1999 U.S. Open at Pinehurst, saying it was his response to poor pin positions.

And just in case you didn't understand, he added the following while speaking to reporters: "If somebody's offended by that, I apologize".

Doing so is a breach of Rule 14.5 which prohibits a player from hitting a moving ball. After three more pars following the meltdown, he bogeyed 17, then parred 18.

"I don't mean disrespect by anybody", Mickelson told Fox.

Mickelson later said he did not mean the shot to be disrespectful, saying there was "no question" the ball was going to roll off the green, and he made a decision to take the penalty rather than the alternative. "In that situation, I was just going back and forth and I'd gladly take the two shots over continuing that display". I took the 2-shot penalty and moved on.